Buddha’s seat

 I love it how an innocent priority seat sign can carry so much cultural meaning. This one you’ll definitely not find anywhere to the west of Greenwich – I present you Buddha’s seat!

With 95% of its population being Buddhist, Thailand has enough monks walking around to put these signs to use. These designs are so cool because even to my western eyes they quickly bring to mind images of monks wrapped in their typical orange robes.

The sign on the left was on a train, and the one on the right was at an airport.

I’ve never ran into such a priority seat sign in western countries, I guess there should be some in relation to priests and nuns in the least secular countries out there. Have you seen any such signs? Let me know!

Check out other countries’ priority seat signs!

Check out other signs in Thailand!

2 thoughts on “Buddha’s seat

  1. That is so cool! I knew that monks were held in high regard in Thailand. This shows how Thai culture adapts to modernism that wants to push spirituality into the back seat. Thanks for sharing!

  2. That is really cool. I’m somewhat of a Buddhist (though not a very good one) and I can commend anyone who dedicates their life to such pursuits. I believe they should be held in high regard as most spiritual people. Great post, lets me see something that I might not have seen otherwise. Keep it coming! 🙂

Leave a Reply

