Japanese smoking manners in winter

1st Text:

雪につっこむべきものは、スキー用具と顔だけだ。
The only thinks that should be stuck in the snow are ski gear and your own face.

TOBACCO / FACE / SKI / SNOW

2nd Text:

火を投げる。
たばこ意外で、するだろうか。
It has not tossed it aside in front of my house if it thinks.

TOSS AWAY / TOBACCO / MATCH

Proper translation:

Throwing fire. Besides tabacco, is this done?

3rd Text:

犬と散歩すると、いつもより吸いがらが目につく。
The cigarette butts are always more noticeable when I’m walking my dog.

AWARE / DOG / TOBACCO

4th Text:

買ってでも使うケータイ電話。もらっても使わないケータイ灰皿。
A free portable ashtray is as easy to carry as a mobile phone. So why don’t I use one?

PORTABLE ASHTRAY

5th Text:

灰皿が入るポケット、冬の私はたくさん持っている。
In the winter, my pockets are stuffed with portable ashtrays.

INSIDE WAIST ARM HIP BREAST

6th Text:

人ごみで吸ってはいけない。人のコートはだいたい高い。
Don’t smoke in a crowd. Coats are expensive.

WAIT / SHOCK / HOLE / IGNORE

7th Text:

私に手を振る人がいた。煙を払う仕草だった。
A person was waving at me. He was waving away my smoke.

HAND WAVING / SMOKE PROTECTION

8th Text:

捨てる人は、拾わない。捨てない人が、拾っている。
Some people throw trash in the street. Other people have to clean it up.

BAD SMOKER / STREET CLEANER

Better translation:

Smokers litter. Non-smokers clean up.

9th Text:

排水溝に入れようとした。いちばん拾いづらくした。
I tossed away my cigarette butt into the drain. In effect, I was making sure it wouldn’t be picked up.

STREET CLEANER / TOBACCO / SEWER

2 thoughts on “Japanese smoking manners in winter

Leave a Reply

